GERMI People
Shri D.J. Pandian

Shri D.J. Pandian, IAS
Vice Chairman & Managing Trustee
GERMI, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India

Chief Secretary
Government of Gujarat, India

Mr. D. J. Pandian is a Senior Officer belonging to the Indian Administrative Service, having more than 30 years of experience in Public Policy & Administration. He is currently the Principal Secretary to Government of Gujarat in Energy & Petrochemicals Department, which coordinates public & private sector power utilities to provide quality power at affordable cost to various consumers in the state. The department also facilitates industries in the entire value chain of the petroleum & natural gas sector i.e. upstream, midstream and downstream activities to secure the energy needs of the nation.

Prior to the current assignment, Mr. Pandian served as the Chief Executive Officer of Gujarat State Petroleum Corporation (GSPC) and its group companies for 8 years. During his tenure, he converted GSPC into a giant Oil & Gas company with presence in the entire Value Chain of Hydro Carbon Sector. He has developed an extensive gas grid network for transmission & distribution of natural gas throughout Gujarat. Through his visionary policies & programme implementation skills he has developed City Gas Distribution systems in most of the districts of Gujarat with active public & private participation. He was also instrumental in setting up a modern university (Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University) to provide highly skilled technical manpower to the industries in the petroleum and allied energy sectors. In his current assignment he is instrumental in setting up the biggest Solar Park in Asia.

Earlier Mr. Pandian worked as Deputy Secretary in Capital Market Division of Ministry of Finance, Government of India, New Delhi. During his assignment he was instrumental in liberalizing government policies for foreign capital inflow. His successful stint in the Ministry of Finance, Government of India enabled him for a special assignment with World Bank in Washington DC during 1998-2001.

Shri Amin M. Petiwala
Prof. T. Harinarayana
Mr. P. H. Rao
Prof. Dr. N.S. Varandani
Dr. Syed Zaheer Hasan
Mrs. Priyanka Sen
Mr. Santosh Dhubia
Dr. Mohammed Abdul Rasheed
Mr. Ramachandran K.
Dr. Omkar Jani
Dr. Sanjay Kumar Behura
Dr. Sagar Agravat
Mr. Shatrughan Yadav
Mr. Haresh C. Shah
Mr. Dharmik Lay L
Ms. Narinderjit Kaur Sethi
Mr. Ankur Bhatnagar
Ms. Madhu Choudhary
Mrs. Sandhya Radhakrishnan
Mrs. Sunita Gamit
Mr. Nilesh Patel
Mr. Viral Mistry
Ms. Monika Panchani
Mr. Prashant Gopiyani